Today is the day: Fri 12 September 2014

Good grief. I am sure I am not alone in thinking this, but sometimes I really do feel entirely ill-equipped for living in the adult world despite feeding the birds. Since having Blake I have tried SO HARD to make this grown-up thing work, but there is just a link missing in my brain I think.

I can keep my family fed and watered and clothed, I can arrange nice days out for us, but at times the bare bones admin tasks that you need to do to keep your life ticking over elude me altogether. Like changing your address with all of the right people and organisations when you move house. I thought I had this NAILED. I did not. It has bitten me quite royally on the arse three times in the last 2 months and I am so cross with myself, because I genuinely really tried to tick every box and cover every eventuality and I FAILED MISERABLY DAMIT. And I was so pleased at the start of today – THE BOILER MAN WAS COMING! I had got myself organised and got my Boiler Service sorted 2 whole months before I officially needed to. And then it all came crashing down around my ears because it appears I expended every last ounce of my organisational ability booking that Service. Nuts. It is far too sorry and stupid a tale to share on here, I fear you will abandon me altogether if I do.

And so you find me forlornly flicking through the App Store searching under terms such as ‘organise me please’ ‘my app PA’ ‘I am a total dickhead’ etc etc and frantically trying to note important dates in my phone diary.

On a positive note, Blake raided my handbag at the end of the day, grabbed a Tampax (sorry sorry SORRY male sensibilities) and ran around the house waving it and screaming, which cheered me up quite a bit although I failed to get pictorial evidence to embarrass him with when he’s 17.

This this THIS is the perfect bit of writing to draw a line under today:

Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Here’s a photo of a glass of very nice Red, which was a gift from my friend for my 30th. What you cannot see is the SODDING CORK FLOATING IN IT BECAUSE I AM TOO STUPID TO USE AN OLD FASHIONED CORKSCREW WHO HAS ONE OF THOSE ANYWAY OH YES THAT’S RIGHT A PROFESSIONAL CHEF GOODNIGHT

IMG_3969.JPG

dazedandmumfused is on Twitter @dazednmumfused and Instagram: dazedandmumfused

One thought on “Today is the day: Fri 12 September 2014

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself we all have hiccups and not just the sounds coming out of a mouth lol. I think you do a great job, I don’t have children and still make the odd blip, my organisation skills come from……… Now don’t tell anyone lol using my gmail calendar as then I get a reminder and although I can snooze it the bloody thing keeps going off so then I get fed up I have to get things done 😒 I’ve brought all the birthday cards I need until January, tick, I just need to write them now. Shame about missing the tampon photo opportunity that would have been brilliant. Have you used a tea strainer to get the cork out your glass or was it needed quickly 😉 You can only ever be yourself and don’t change as that is why we love you. xxx

Leave a Reply

